Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australia Awards Scholarships are awards that are curated long-term by Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. These awards are made available to citizens of other countries, particularly citizens of countries that are Australia’s partners in bilateral and regional treaties. The intention is to contribute to the development and growth of these countries.

Countries in the Indo-Pacific region, the United States, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, India, Fiji, and others are great beneficiaries of the opportunity to undertake undergraduate and Postgraduate studies at selected Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.



Applicants to the Australia Awards Scholarship will have to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia stating that they will comply with the conditions of the scholarship.

Upon the success of an application, Scholars are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after completing their scholarship. Failure to do this will result in the attraction of debt for the total accrued cost of the scholarship.


Recommended: Commonwealth Scholarships for International Students


It is important to note that the Australia Awards Scholarships are only provided for the duration of the studies, undergraduate or post-graduate as approved by the Australian university. This covers any period required for extensive, preparatory training.

  • Complete tuition fees
  • establishment allowance – (a one-time payment as a contribution to accommodation expenses, textbooks, etc)
  • Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) – a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department
  • return air travel–payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, through the most direct route
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only)–provided to cover the scholar’s basic medical costs (with the exception of pre-existing conditions)
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP)–a compulsory program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on living and studying in Australia
  • supplementary academic support may be available to ensure a scholar’s academic success or enhance their academic experience
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees–if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training
  • fieldwork (for research awards and Masters by coursework which have a research component where fieldwork is compulsory) may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

Continue to apply for the  Australia Awards Scholarship.


Eligible Countries


• Bangladesh

• Bhutan


• Cambodia

• Indonesia

• Laos

• Maldives

• Mongolia

• Myanmar

• Nepal

• Pakistan

• Philippines

• Sri Lanka

• Timor-Leste

• Vietnam


• Federated States of Micronesia

• Fiji

• Kiribati

• Marshall Islands

• Nauru

• Niue

• Palau

• Papua New Guinea

• Samoa

• Solomon Islands

• Tonga

• Tuvalu

• Vanuatu

• Wallis and Futuna

Middle East

• Palestinian Territories


  • Algeria,
  • Botswana,
  • Democratic Republic of Congo,
  • Egypt,
  • Ethiopia,
  • Gabon,
  • Ghana,
  • Kenya,
  • Liberia,
  • Madagascar,
  • Malawi,
  • Mauritius,
  • Morocco,
  • Mozambique,
  • Namibia,
  • Nigeria,
  • Rwanda,
  • Senegal,
  • Sierra Leone,
  • South Africa,
  • Sudan,
  • Tanzania,
  • The Gambia,
  • Uganda,
  • Zambia and Zimbabwe

Continue to apply for the  Australia Awards Scholarship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *